Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
Walter B. Cannon Medal Award

The Walter B. Cannon Medal is awarded annually to a distinguished radiologist who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of gastrointestinal and abdominal radiology, and the Society itself.

2016 SAR Cannon Medalist

Congratulations to the 2016 Cannon Award winner, William W. Olmsted, MD

of the Baltimore Veterans Administration Hospital and the University of Maryland School of Medicine

who was selected as the 2016 SAR Walter B. Cannon Medalist.


Dr. Olmsted was honored during the 2016 Annual Meeting of the Society,

Wednesday, March 16, 2016 in Waikoloa, Hawaii.


2015 SAR Cannon Medalist


Congratulations to the 2015 Cannon Award winner, Eric vanSonnenberg, MD

of the University of Arizona College of Medicine 

who was selected as the 2015 SAR Walter B. Cannon Medalist.


Dr. vanSonnenberg was honored during the Annual Meeting of the Society,

Wednesday, March 25, 2015 in Coronado, California.



 Past Recipients of the Cannon Medal Award

2014Robert J. Stanley, MD


2013: Richard L. Baron, MD

2012: Richard M. Gore, MD

2011: Susan D. Wall, MD

2010: Michael P. Federle, MD


2009: Marc S. Levine, MD


2008: Dean D.T. Maglinte, MD


2007: Bronwyn Jones, MD


2006: Giles Stevenson, MD


2005: Charles A. Rhormann, Jr., MD


2004: David Stephens, MD


2003: Emil Balthazar, MD


2002: Patrick C. Freeny, MD


2001: William M. Thompson, MD


2000: Edward T. Stewart, MD


1998: Stanley Baum, MD


1997: Albert A. Moss, MD


1996: Henry I. Goldberg, MD


1995: Hans Herlinger, MD


1994: Gerald D. Dodd, Jr., MD


1993: George R. Leopold, MD


1992: Morton A. Meyers, MD


1991: Joseph T. Ferrucci, Jr., MD


1990: Edward B. Singleton, MD


1989: Wylie J. Dodds, MD


1988: Igor Laufer, MD


1987: Harley C. Carlson, MD


1986: John R. Amberg, MD


1985: Hikoo Shirakabe, MD


1984: Robert N. Berk, MD


1983: Martin W. Donner, MD


1982: H. Joachim Burhenne, MD


1981: Sidney W. Nelson, MD


1980: Roscoe E. Miller, MD


1979: William B. Seaman, MD


1978: Bernard Wolf, MD (posthumously)


1977:Alexander R. Margulis, MD


Email: | Phone: 713-965-0566
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal