Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
GI Bleeding DFP

GI Bleeding Twitter page (@SAR_GIBleedDFP)


DFP Profile

DFP NAME:

SAR GI Bleeding DFP

 

MISSION:

To promote and speed evolution of cross-sectional and other imaging techniques and multidisciplinary guidelines to improve outcomes in patients with overt and occult GI bleeding through rigorous analysis of existing medical evidence, and prospective interdisciplinary research, collaboration and education.

 

DFP GOALS:

 

Clinical Practice
1. Publish a comprehensive review of the radiology and gastroenterology techniques used to diagnose GI bleeding.
2. Establish working relationships with gastroenterology-led medical societies to develop multidisciplinary guidelines for the use of imaging techniques in the diagnosis of overt and occult GI bleeding.
3. Develop SAR-recommended protocols for the optimal performance of the imaging techniques used to diagnose GI bleeding.

Educational Program and Content

1. Develop an online interactive teaching resource to educate radiologists and clinicians on the benefits of imaging techniques. This resource will allow individuals to review cases that demonstrate imaging findings of interesting, unique or subtle cases of GI bleeding and emphasize the importance of imaging in the diagnosis.
2. Develop an online database of articles to help promote education and provide a rapid resource for clinical practice and research.

Impact on Research
1. The formation of the DFP will provide an opportunity and mechanism for discussing and planning possible multicenter studies describing pathology, benefits of cross-sectional imaging and assessing cost-effectiveness.

 

SAR GI Bleeding DFP Members:

Chair: Jeff Fidler, Mayo Clinic; fidler.jeff@mayo.edu  

Co-Chair: Jorge Soto, Boston University; jorge.soto@bmc.org

 

Mahmoud Al-Hawary, University of Michigan; alhawary@med.umich.edu

Brian Allen, Duke University; brian.allen@duke.edu

Olga Brook, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center; obrook@bidmc.harvard.edu

Mike Gee, Massachusetts General Hospital; msgee@mgh.harvard.edu

Flavius (Buddy) Guglielmo, Thomas Jefferson University; flavius.guglielmo@jefferson.edu

David Grand, Brown University; dgrand@lifespan.org

Martin Gunn, University of Washington; marting@uw.edu

Ashish Khandelwal; Mayo Clinic; khandelwal.ashish@mayo.edu

Christina Lebedis, Boston University; christina.lebedis@bmc.org

Vijay Ramalingam; Ochsner Clinic Foundation; vijay.ramalingam@ochsner.org

Farnoosh Sokhandon, Beaumont Health; farnoosh.sokhandon@beaumont.edu

Mike Wells, Mayo Clinic; wells.michael@mayo.edu

 

Click Here to Meet our Members

 

 

SAR International Members:

Seong Ho Park, Asan Medical Center, South Korea; parksh.radiology@gmail.com

Alvaro Huete, Pontifical Catholic University of Chile; hueteahg@hotmail.com

 

Consultants (non-radiology):

Lisa Strate, University of Washington; lstrate@u.washington.edu

David Bruining, Mayo Clinic; bruining.david@mayo.edu

 

Leadership:

Chair: Jeff Fidler

Co-chair: Jorge Soto

 

Subcommittees:

Clinical practice chair: Jeff Fidler

Scientific chair: Jorge Soto

Education chair: Mike Wells, Alvaro Huete

Publications chair: Buddy Guglielmo, Farnoosh Sokhandon

Website chair: Martin Gunn

Social media chair: Ashish Khandelwal

ACR Liaison: Jorge Soto

American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) Liaison: Lisa Strate, Jeff Fidler

American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) Liaison: Lisa Strate, David Bruining, Jeff Fidler

American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (ASGE) Liaison: David Bruining, Lisa Strate, Jeff Fidler

Society of Interventional Radiology (SIR) Liaison: Vijay Ramalingam

American Society of Emergency Radiology (ASER) Liaison: Jorge Soto

 

WORKING GROUPS:

Technical developments

Occult GI bleeding

Overt GI bleeding

Small bowel neoplasms

Vascular lesions

Management guidelines



RESOURCES:

 

Current Management Guidelines

 

ACG: Management of patients with acute lower GI bleeding (2016)

ASGE: Role of endoscopy in the patient with lower GI bleeding (2014)

ACG: Diagnosis and management of small bowel bleeding (2015)

ASGE: Role of endoscopy in the management of suspected small bowel bleeding (2017)

ACR: Appropriateness Criteria for Nonvariceal Upper Gastrointestinal Bleeding (2016)

 


Email: admin@abdominalradiology.org | Phone: 713-965-0566
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal