Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
2017 Award Winners

SAR Special Awards

SAR Howard M. Pollack Medalist
Peter L. Choyke, MD

National Institutes of Health 


SAR Walter B. Cannon Medalist 
Dennis M. Balfe, MD

 Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology

SAR GU Lifetime Achievement Award
Nicholas Papanicolaou, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania 

SAR GI Lifetime Achievement Award
John P. McGahan, MD  

University of California-Davis, Medical Center 


Distinguished International Member Award

 Gabriel P. Krestin, MD, PhD

Erasmus University Medical Center Rotterdam


 Richard H. Marshak International Lecturer Award

 Khaled M. Elsayes, MD

University of Texas - MD Anderson Cancer Center

SAR Research Awards

Morton A. Bosniak Research Award 

Time Intensity Curve Analysis in Contrast Enhanced Ultrasound Evaluation of EphB4 as a Therapeutic Target in the Treatment of Renal Cell Carcinoma

Kevin King, MD


 Howard S. Stern Research Grant

Imaging of Zinc Metabolism Using Hyperpolarized 13C Magnetic Resonance Imaging in Prostate Cancer

Robert Flavell, MD, PhD

Wylie J. Dodds Research Award

In Vivo Tracking of Hepatic c-Met Expression Following RF Ablation and Tumorigenic Response in c-Met Positive Hepatocellular Carcinoma Using Targeted Molecular MRI 

Patricia Coutinho de Souza, DVM, PhD   


Annual Meeting Awards

Best GI Clinical Scientific Paper Award
Penetrating Crohn's Disease: Does it Occur in the Absence of Luminal Narrowing/Stricturing Disease
Jonathan R. Dillman, MD, MSc - Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
Co-Authors: Emily Orscheln, Alexander J. Towbin, Lee Denson, Andrew Trout

Best GU Clinical Scientific Paper Award
Evaluation of 68Ga-PSMA-11 PET for Detection of Nodal Metastases in Intermediate to  High-Risk
Preprostatectomy Patients

Thomas A. Hope, MD - UCSF
Co-Authors: Hao Nguyen, Kirsten L. Greene, Antonio C. Westphalen, Matthew Cooperberg, Katsuto Shinohara, 
Peter Carroll

 Best Translational Research/Does Scientific Paper Award
Quantification of Hepatocellular Carcinoma Heterogeneity with Multiparametric Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Stefanie Hectors, PhD - Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Co-Authors: Mathilde Wagner, Octavia Bane , Cecilia Besa, Sara Lewis, Romain Remark, Nelson Chen, M. Isabel Fiel, Hongfa Zhu, Sacha Gnjatic, Miriam Merad, Yujin Hoshida, Bachir Taouli

Best General Abdomen/Clinical Improvement Scientific Paper Award
Comparative Effectiveness of Metastatic Tumor Response Methods: Standard of Care vs Computer-assisted Response Evaluation
Andrew D. Smith, MD, PhD - University of MS Med Center
Co-Authors: Brian C. Allen, Edward Florez, Reza Sirous, Seth Lirette, Michael E. Griswold, Erick M. Remer, Zhen J. Wang, Jacob Bieszczad, Kelly Cox, Ajit Goenka, Candace Howard-Claudio, Hyunseon C. Kang, Sadhna B. Nandwana, Rupan Sanyal, Atul Shinagare, John C. Henegan, Judd Storrs, Matthew S. Davenport, Balaji Ganeshan, Katie Ocain, Jason Bryan, Amit Vasanji, Brian Rini

Roscoe E. Miller Best Paper Award 
Ferumoxytol Enhanced MRI for the Detection of Lymph Node Metastases in Prostate Cancer
Francesca Mertan, BASc - National Institues of Health, NCI
Co-Authors: Ravi Madan, Deborah Citrin, James Gulley, Maria Merino, Brad Wood, Peter Pinto, William Dahut, Peter Choyke, Baris Turkbey

Alexander R. Margulis Best Paper by a Trainee Award
Novel Clinical Application of R2* Maps in Visualization of Biliary Anatomy
Soudabeh Fazeli Dehkordy, MD - UCSD Health Center
Co-Authors: Adrija Mamidipalli, Jonathan C. Hooker, Cheng W. Hong, Alexandra Schlein, Claude B. Sirlin

Magna Cum Laude Poster Award
Hepatic Geography - Navigating the Islands and Continents of Diffuse Liver Disease
Brian Y. Chan, MD - University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics
Co-Authors: Vincenzo K. Wong, Timothy Ziemlewicz, Lori Mankowski Gettle

Essentials for Establishing a Successful MR-US Fusion Biopsy Program
Karthik M. Sundaram
, MD, PhD - Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Co-Authors: Elizabeth Craig, Lori Deitte, Geoffrey Wile, David Penson, Sandeep S. Arora

Cum Laude Poster Awards
Abdominal Manifestations of Neurocutaneous Syndromes: Why it’s Necessary to Look Below the Diaphragm!
Maria A. Gosein, MBBS, FRCR, DM - Vancouver General Hospital
Co-Authors: Alison Harris, Emily Pang, Paramanand Maharaj

Fluoroscopic Evaluation of the Post-Operative Esophagectomy Patient

Leslie E. Partridge, MS - The Ohio State Wexner Medical Center
Co-Authors: Joshua E. Tussing, Zarine K. Shah, Samantha J. Barker, Arpit Nagar

Post-treatment MRI Evaluation of Rectal Cancer – Evolving Strategies
Iva Petkovska, MD - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Co-Authors: Naomi Campbell, Milou Martens, Lisa Min,  James L. Fuqua, Marc J. Gollub

Poster Merit Awards
Detection of Advanced Liver Fibrosis and Cirrhosis using MR Elastography Compared to Liver Surface Nodularity Measurement, EOB-DTPA Uptake and Blood Tests
Cecilia Besa, MD

Utility of the Central Appendix Sign and Other CT Findings in the Diagnosis of Cecal Volvulus
Bari Dane, MD

3T Restriction Spectrum Imaging Association with Prostate Cancer Gleason Score, PI-RADS v2 Score and Tumor Diameter on Whole Mount 3D-Mold-Sectioned Histopathology
Pooria Khoshnoodi, MD

Rediscovering the Retroperitoneum: Masses and More
Michelle Sakala, MD

Hypervascular Pancreatic “Lesions” – A Pattern-based Approach to Differentiation
Prasad R. Shankar, MD


SAR Fund Trainee Travel Scholarship Awards

Prospective Comparison of PIRADSv2 and In-House System in Detection of Prostate Cancer

 Sonia Gaur, BS


Evaluation of HCC Response to Loco-regional Therapy: Validation of Response Criteria with MRI
Using Explant as a Reference

Sonja Gordic, MD


Evaluation of an Abbreviated Screening MRI Protocol for Patients at Risk for HCC

Jennifer Lee, MD


Efficacy of Percutaneous Cholecystostomy as Definitive Treatment for Acute Cholecystitis: A Single Center's 10 Year Experience

Lakir Patel, BSc


Monitoring Resolution of Fatty Liver Disease with MRI following Bariatric Weight Loss Surgery: A Prospective, Multi-center Study

Bryan Pooler, MD


Case of the Day Winners

1st Place 

Maria Goesin, MBBS, FRCR

2nd Place 

Varaha Tammisetti, MD

3rd Place
Angus Hartery, MD
Prasuna Inampudi, MD


Email: | Phone: 713-965-0566
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal