Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
A Message from the SAR President

April 2015

new image
Dear SAR members, colleagues and anyone else who wandered to the site,

In June 2014 I started my first president’s message with the line “the task of creating my first president’s message is a daunting one.” Now that my year as president has ended, I can honestly say it has become easier to craft these—although I can hardly believe this is my last message to be posted under the heading “A Message from the SAR President.” Looking back over the year, I am humbled by the society that I hold so dear giving me the honor and pleasure of serving on the board and ascending to its presidency.

So, what have we accomplished this year?

• New Disease-focused Panels
• New Program Director’s subgroup
• Continuation of our collaboration with Calgary Scientific for at least 2 more years (including the platform for Case of the Day at the annual meeting and participation in our small bowel course)
• New Member-in-Training membership category
• Reorganization of our website committees to be more responsive to member needs
• Record membership

We have added 175 new members since the last annual meeting—by far surpassing the number who joined in any other year. In addition, we had 840 registrants at our Annual Meeting a few weeks ago in Coronado, California—a new record for the west coast! The weather finally cooperated perfectly—at least for those who wanted to be outside and not in meeting rooms—and the venue could not have been more awesome. The level of service at the Hotel del Coronado was exceptional and everyone who stopped me at the meeting had only praise for the experience. All of our plenary sessions were very well attended—even down to the last talk on Friday. The In Camera session on the Impact of the New Interventional Radiology Residency on the practice of Abdominal Radiology was also well attended and a lively discussion ensued.

I am also proud to announce 2015/2016 award recipients:

• Cannon medal: William W. Olmsted, MD
• Pollack medal: Philip Kenney, MD
• Lifetime achievement awards: R. Broke Jeffrey, Jr. MD and Isaac Francis, MD
• Dodds Research award: Daniele Marin, MD
• Bosniak Research award: Sara Lewis, MD
• Stern Research award: Anthony Samir, MD
• Laufer Visiting Professor: Mukesh Harisinghani, MD
• Marshak Distinguished lecturer: David DiSantis, MD
• Distinguished International member: Gabriel Krestin, MD
• Second Director in Succession: Jonny Kruskal, MD

I am sad to be stepping down as President but happy to be serving one more term on the board in the capacity as Past President. It will be just as busy as there are new committees to oversee and new responsibilities to fulfill. I turn the presidency over to very capable and accomplished hands—those of Judy Yee, MD. She brings to the presidency a rare insight, exceptional leadership skills, and a fierce commitment to our specialty. I look forward to working with her closely this coming year.

In parting, I want to thank the board for working with me in supporting the many functions of our society, all of the volunteers who work so diligently on committees, all of the members who traveled to give workshops and plenary sessions at the meeting, and IMM (International Meeting Managers) for keeping us all in line and helping to organize a terrific meeting so that it seems so effortless when we come together.


Deb Baumgarten, MD, MPH, FACR, FSAR
SAR President, 2014-2015


Email: | Phone: 713-965-0566
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal