Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
Walter B. Cannon Medal Award

The Walter B. Cannon Medal was awarded annually to a distinguished radiologist who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of gastrointestinal and abdominal radiology, and the Society itself.

*In 2019, the Cannon Medal, Pollack Medal and Lifetime Achievement awards were transitioned to SAR Gold Medal awards.*

2018 SAR Cannon Medalist

Congratulations to the 2018 Walter B. Cannon Award recipient, 
Peter R. Mueller
, MD of Massachusetts General Hospital


Dr. Mueller was honored during the 2018 Annual Meeting of the Society,

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 in Scottsdale, Arizona.

2017 SAR Cannon Medalist

Congratulations to the 2017 Walter B. Cannon Award winner, 
Dennis M. Balfe, MD of the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology.

Dr. Balfe was honored during the 2017 Annual Meeting of the Society,

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 in Hollywood, Florida.


2016 SAR Cannon Medalist


Congratulations to the 2016 Walter B. Cannon Award recipient, 
William W. Olmsted, MD of the Baltimore Veterans Administration Hospital and
the University of Maryland School of Medicine.


Dr. Olmsted was honored during the 2016 Annual Meeting of the Society,

Wednesday, March 16, 2016 in Waikoloa, Hawaii.



 Past Recipients of the Cannon Medal Award

2015: Eric vanSonnenberg, MD


2014Robert J. Stanley, MD


2013: Richard L. Baron, MD

2012: Richard M. Gore, MD

2011: Susan D. Wall, MD

2010: Michael P. Federle, MD


2009: Marc S. Levine, MD


2008: Dean D.T. Maglinte, MD


2007: Bronwyn Jones, MD


2006: Giles Stevenson, MD


2005: Charles A. Rhormann, Jr., MD


2004: David Stephens, MD


2003: Emil Balthazar, MD


2002: Patrick C. Freeny, MD


2001: William M. Thompson, MD


2000: Edward T. Stewart, MD


1998: Stanley Baum, MD


1997: Albert A. Moss, MD


1996: Henry I. Goldberg, MD


1995: Hans Herlinger, MD


1994: Gerald D. Dodd, Jr., MD


1993: George R. Leopold, MD


1992: Morton A. Meyers, MD


1991: Joseph T. Ferrucci, Jr., MD


1990: Edward B. Singleton, MD


1989: Wylie J. Dodds, MD


1988: Igor Laufer, MD


1987: Harley C. Carlson, MD


1986: John R. Amberg, MD


1985: Hikoo Shirakabe, MD


1984: Robert N. Berk, MD


1983: Martin W. Donner, MD


1982: H. Joachim Burhenne, MD


1981: Sidney W. Nelson, MD


1980: Roscoe E. Miller, MD


1979: William B. Seaman, MD


1978: Bernard Wolf, MD (posthumously)


1977:Alexander R. Margulis, MD


Email: | Phone: 847-752-5355
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal