Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
Hepatic Iron Overload

DFP Profile

 

DFP Name

Hepatic Iron Overload

 

DFP MISSION

To improve diagnosis, management, and outcomes of patients with hepatic iron overload by: (1) establishing interdisciplinary consensus guidelines for imaging techniques; (2) educating radiologists on recommended patient selection, image acquisition, analysis and interpretation methods; and (3) promoting interdisciplinary and multicenter research.

 

 Clinical Practice Goals

1. Provide detailed descriptions of the options currently available for imaging-based quantification of hepatic iron in clinical practice
2. Provide clinical workflow recommendations, including appropriate patient selection, examination protocols, image interpretation, and reporting.


Educational Goals

1. Through a SAR educational and hands-on workshops: increase radiologists’ awareness of hepatic iron overload and its clinical significance; educate radiologists on the advantages, disadvantages, limitations, biases, and pitfalls of existing imaging techniques and post-processing methods; recommend clinical workflow for image interpretation and reporting
2. Develop electronic educational materials for enduring CME activities related to hepatic iron overload
3. Engage clinical stakeholders (e.g. hematology, cardiology, gastroenterology), through their respective processional societies, about the SAR-ESGAR multidisciplinary consensus guidelines (see “International” goals below)


Scientific Goals

1. Summarize current knowledge on liver iron quantification imaging and identify gaps in knowledge via systematic reviews /meta-analysis
2. Identify priorities for future technical refinement and clinical validation research studies
3. Promote and facilitate collaboration for multicenter and multidisciplinary research in hepatic iron overload diagnosis and management


International Goals

1. In collaboration with ESGAR, establish international consensus guidelines on imaging techniques of hepatic iron overload

Member Resources

Coming Soon

 

Leadership and Membership

Leadership Team:   Scott B. Reeder - scientific and international co-chair
                                  Takeshi Yokoo - educational and clinical practice co-chair

SAR Members:
1. Takeshi Yokoo, MD PhD (takeshi.yokoo@utsouthwestern.edu)
2. Scott Reeder, MD PhD (sreeder@wisc.edu)
3. Ihab Kamel, MD (ikamel@jhmi.edu)
4. Anil Chauhan, MD (chauh009@umn.edu)
5. Amikasra (Kasra) Mojtahed, MD (AMOJTAHED@mgh.harvard.edu)
6. Ali Pirasteh, MD (Ali.Pirasteh@UTSouthwestern.edu)
7. Suraj Serai, PhD (SERAIS@EMAIL.CHOP.EDU)
8. Andrew Trout, MD (Andrew.Trout@cchmc.org)
9. Kartik Jhaveri, MD (Kartik.Jhaveri@uhn.ca)

ESGAR Members:

10. Luis Marti-Bonmati, MD PhD (marti_lui@gva.es)
11. Manuela França, MD PhD (mariamanuela.franca@gmail.com)
12. Benjamin Henninger, MD (Benjamin.Henninger@i-med.ac.at)

Consultants:
13. John Wood, MD PhD (JWood@chla.usc.edu) - Cardiology
14. Claudia Hillenbrand, PhD (Claudia.Hillenbrand@STJUDE.ORG) - Physics
15. Beth McCarville, MD (Beth.McCarville@STJUDE.ORG) - Pediatric Radiology
16. Jane Hankins, MD (jane.hankins@stjude.org) - Pediatric Hematology
17. Ralf Loeffler, PhD (Ralf.Loeffler@STJUDE.ORG) - Physics
18. Richard Ward, MD (Richard.Ward@uhn.ca) - Adult Hematology
 

Hepatic Iron Overload outside collaborators

European Society of Abdominal and Gastrointestinal Radiology (ESGAR)
Liaison: Luis Marti-Bonmati, MD (marti_lui@gva.es)

 

Patient Resources

Coming Soon

Email: admin@abdominalradiology.org | Phone: 713-965-0566
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal