Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
Igor Laufer Visiting Professorship Award

The Visiting Professorship Award is sponsored by Bracco Diagnostics, Inc. for SAR Members in the amount of $8,000. The SAR Igor Laufer Visiting Professorship is awarded each year to an outstanding early to mid career, academic radiologist who is a Fellow Member of the Society in good standing and who has demonstrated a history of contributions to the Society. Past or present members of the Board are not eligible for this fellowship. One of the goals of this award is to both recognize and reward an individual for their contributions to GI or GU radiology and the SAR and to provide Society members with interactions at a local and personal level. This should provide a resource to Society members and their institutions nationwide and build an awareness of the SAR to non-members and radiologists in training at these institutions. 


2019-2020 Igor Laufer Visiting Professorship Award Recipient

The SAR announces

Kate Maturen, MD, FSAR of the University of Michigan

as the 2019-2020 SAR Igor Laufer Visiting Professor 

Dr. Maturen will also participate as a faculty member of the 

2019 SAR International Education Conference Team.












Past Recipients of the Visiting Professorship Award

(Click each person's name below to see a report of their travels)



2017- 2018: Frank Miller, MD, Northwestern University 




2012 - 2013:  Perry J. Pickhardt, MD, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health


2011 - 2012:  Benjamin M. Yeh, MD , University of CA, San Francisco


2010 - 2011:  Erik K. Paulson, MD, Duke University Medical Center


2009 - 2010:  Koenraad Mortele, MD,  Brigham and Women’s Hospital


2008 - 2009: Dushyant Sahani, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital


2007 - 2008: Judy Yee, MD, University of CA, San Francisco VA Medical Center


2006 - 2007: Sharlene Teefey, MD, Mallinckrodt Institute


2005 - 2006: Angela Levy, MD, Uniformed Services University of the Health Science


2004 - 2005: Michael Macari, MD, NYU Medical Center


2003 - 2004: Jonathan Kruskal, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center


2002 - 2003: Mary Keogan, MD, St James' Hospital


2001 - 2002: Ann Fulcher, MD, Medical College of Virginia


2000 - 2001: Gerald Dodd, III, MD, University of Colorado Health Science Center


1999: Jay Heiken, MD, Mallinckrodt Institute


1998: Richard Gore, MD, Evanston Northwestern Healthcare


1997: C. Daniel Johnson, MD, Mayo Clinic Arizona


1996: Susan Wall, MD, University of California, San Francisco


1995: Richard Baron, MD, University of Chicago


1994: R. Brooke Jeffrey, Jr., MD, Stanford University Hospital


1993: Dennis M. Balfe, MD, Mallinckrodt Institute


1992: Pablo R. Ros, M, Brigham and Women's Hospital


1991: Joel E. Lichtenstein, MD, University of Washington


1990: Emil J. Balthazar, MD, New Bellevue Hospital


1989: Marc S. Levine, MD, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania


1988: David W. Gelfand, MD, Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center


1987: Eric vanSonnenberg, MD, Saint Joseph's Hospital Medical Center


1986: Wylie J. Dodds, Jr., MD, Medical College of Wisconsin


Recipients from 2011 and prior are from the GI Chapter

Email: | Phone: 847-752-5355
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal