Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award was bestowed upon any present or past member of the Society 
for his/her substantial contributions to abdominal radiology.


*In 2019, the Cannon Medal, Pollack Medal and Lifetime Achievement awards were transitioned to SAR Gold Medal awards.*




Congratulations to the 2018 GI Lifetime Achievement Award recipient:

Herb Kressel, MD, FSAR of the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center.


Congratulations to the 2018 GU Lifetime Achievement Award recipient:

Michael Bettmann, MD, FSAR of the Wake Forest University School of Medicine.

Drs. Kressel and Bettmann were honored during the Annual Meeting of the Society,

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 in Scottsdale, Arizona.




Congratulations to the 2017 GI Lifetime Achievement Award recipient:

John P. McGahan, MD of the University of California-Davis, Medical Center


Congratulations to the 2017 GU Lifetime Achievement Award recipient:

Nicholas Papanicolaou, MD of the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania.

Drs. McGahan and Papanicolaou were honored during the Annual Meeting of the Society,

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 in Hollywood, Florida.



Congratulations to the 2016 GI Lifetime Achievement Award recipient:
R. Brooke Jeffrey, Jr., MD of Stanford University Hospital.



Congratulations to the 2016 GU Lifetime Achievement Award recipient:

Isaac R. Francis, MD of the University of Michigan.


Drs. Jeffrey and Francis were honored during the Annual Meeting of the Society, Wednesday, March 16, 2016 in Waikoloa, Hawaii.



Past Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award


2015:  Joseph F. Simeone, MD (GI)
Bruce R. Baumgartner, MD (GU)



2014:  Robert Mattrey, MD (GU)

 J. William Charboneau, MD (GI) 

2013: Suresh K. Patel, MD (GU)

Ali Shirkhoda, MD, FACR (GI)


2012: Jelle O. Barentsz, MD, PhD (GU)
Joel E. Lichtenstein, MD (GI)

2011: Syed Zafar Jafri, MD (GU)

Harold A. Mitty, MD (GU)
Francis J. Scholz, MD (GI)
Mary Ann Turner, MD (GI)


2010: Marco A. Amendola, MD (GU)
Henrik S. Thomsen, MD (GU)


2009: David S. Hartman, MD (GU)


2008: Stanford M. Goldman, MD (GU)
Neil Wasserman, MD (GU)


2007: Melvyn T. Korobkin, MD (GU)
Arthur J. Segal, MD (GU)

Email: | Phone: 847-752-5355
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal